Football 2 years ago

Bridge wins 2nd Wanderers A-League medal

  • Bridge wins 2nd Wanderers A-League medal

    ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - MAY 01: Scott Neville of the Wanderers celebrates a goal with teammate Mark Bridge during the 2015/16 A-League Grand Final match between Adelaide United and the Western Sydney Wanderers at the Adelaide Oval on May 1, 2016 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Morne de Klerk/Getty Images)

Western Sydney forward Mark Bridge has capped off his finest A-League season yet by winning his second Wanderers Medal as player of the year.

Bridge claimed the club's highest individual honour at the Wanderers' presentation night in Sydney on Tuesday, two days after Tony Popovic's side lost to Adelaide United in their third grand-final defeat in four years.

It was reward for the 30-year-old's nine goals and eight assists across a career-best campaign.

You might also like

Bridge, a Wanderers foundation player, also won the inaugural Wanderers Medal in 2012-13.

"You always want recognition for doing well, but to get it from your teammates is that bit more special," Bridge said.

Despite recent interest from Asia, Bridge hinted he might remain in Parramatta for another season.

"I'm signed to a contract and we still haven't won the grand final, so unfinished business," he said.

Reborn playmaker Mitch Nichols claimed a double in his first season at the club, awarded both the members' player of the year and the Rod Allen Award for media player of the year.

Brendon Santalab took out the Golden Boot following his late flurry of five goals in the final four matches brought his season tally to an equal club record of 11.

Winger Erica Halloway was named W-League player of the year in her rookie season.


* A-League player of the year: Mark Bridge

* A-League Golden Boot: Brendon Santalab

* Members' player of the year: Mitch Nichols

* Rod Allen Award: media player of the year: Mitch Nichols

* W-League player of the year: Erica Halloway

* National Youth League player of the year: Lachlan Scott

* Powerchair player of the year: Jacob Cross

* Chairman's Award: Youcef Kabbara

* Volunteer of the Year: Colin Smith

0 0
please wait...